

ECHR 126 (2025) 23.05.2025

Team from Charles University, Czech Republic, wins Helga Pedersen Moot Court Competition 2025

Students from Charles University, Czech Republic have been declared the winners of the 2025 Helga Pedersen Moot Court competition for law students after beating a rival team from IE University, Spain, in the final round.

This was the 13th edition of the Helga Pedersen Moot Court Competition, which was held in Strasbourg from 19-23 May 2025. The competition, consisting of mock legal proceedings conducted in English and based on the European Convention on Human Rights, was open to law students and was organised jointly by the Council of Europe and the European Law Students' Association (ELSA).

Eighteen university teams from 14 countries (Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine and the United Kingdom), selected following a written stage and regional rounds, competed to win a fictitious case related to the use of medical cannabis and the right to respect for private life, personal autonomy, and property rights.

The Grand Final took place at the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg on Friday 23 May 2025, before a panel made up of current and former judges of the Court, a member of the President's private office, and the case author. It was chaired by Judge Gilberto Felici, judge elected in respect of San Marino.

Further information about this year's competition and previous competitions can be found <u>here</u> and on the <u>Helga Pedersen Moot Court Competition website</u>.

This press release is a document produced by the Registry. It does not bind the Court. Decisions, judgments and further information about the Court can be found on www.echr.coe.int. To receive the Court's press releases, please subscribe here: www.echr.coe.int/RSS/en or follow us on X (Twitter) @ECHR CEDH and Bluesky @echr.coe.int.

Press contacts

echrpress@echr.coe.int | tel: +33 3 90 21 42 08

We are happy to receive journalists' enquiries via either email or telephone.

Jane Swift (tel: + 33 3 88 41 29 04)

Tracey Turner-Tretz (tel: + 33 3 88 41 35 30) Denis Lambert (tel: + 33 3 90 21 41 09) Inci Ertekin (tel: + 33 3 90 21 55 30) Neil Connolly (tel: + 33 3 90 21 48 05)

The European Court of Human Rights was set up in Strasbourg by the Council of Europe member States in 1959 to deal with alleged violations of the 1950 European Convention on Human Rights.

