

ECHR 117 (2025) 12.05.2025

Court elects a new Section President

The European Court of Human Rights has today elected a new Section President – Judge **Kateřina Šimáčková**, elected in respect of the Czech Republic. She will take up her duties on 30 May 2025.

Kateřina Šimáčková

Born on 23 October 1966 in Brno, Czech Republic

Master of Law, Faculty of Law, Masaryk University in Brno, 1988

Lecturer, Department of Constitutional Law and Political Science, Faculty of Law, Masaryk University in Brno, 1990-1993, 2001-2007

Law clerk, Constitutional Court of the Federal Republic of Czechoslovakia, 1992

Practising lawyer and litigator, 1994-2009

PhD in Law, Faculty of Law, Masaryk University in Brno, 2007

Assistant professor, Department of Constitutional Law and Political Science, Faculty of Law, Masaryk University in Brno, since 2007

Member, Government Legislative Council of the Czech Republic, 2007-2009

Judge, Supreme Administrative Court of the Czech Republic, 2009-2013

Member, Committee on the selection of judges of the Civil Service Tribunal, Court of Justice of the European Union, 2009-2013

Substitute Member, European Commission for Democracy Through Law (Venice Commission), Council of Europe, 2010-2021

Member, Examination Committee for the purpose of judicial qualification exams in the area of constitutional law, organisation of justice and organisation of public prosecution, 2010-2021

Judge, Constitutional Court of the Czech Republic, 2013-2021

Ad hoc Judge, European Court of Human Rights, 2016-2021

Member, Scientific Board, Faculty of Law, Charles University, Prague, since 2016

Certified trainer of the HELP Programme of the Council of Europe, since 2020

Judge of the European Court of Human Rights since 13 December 2021.

Judges' CVs

This press release is a document produced by the Registry. It does not bind the Court. Decisions, judgments and further information about the Court can be found on www.echr.coe.int. To receive the Court's press releases, please subscribe here: www.echr.coe.int/ RSS/en or follow us on X (Twitter) @ECHR CEDH and Bluesky @echr.coe.int.

Press contacts

echrpress@echr.coe.int | tel: +33 3 90 21 42 08

We would encourage journalists to send their enquiries via email.

Tracey Turner-Tretz (tel: + 33 3 88 41 35 30)

Denis Lambert (tel: + 33 3 90 21 41 09)

Inci Ertekin (tel: + 33 3 90 21 55 30)

Neil Connolly (tel: + 33 3 90 21 48 05)

Jane Swift (tel: + 33 3 88 41 29 04)



The European Court of Human Rights was set up in Strasbourg by the Council of Europe member States in 1959 to deal with alleged violations of the 1950 European Convention on Human Rights.