

ECHR 231 (2015) 06.07.2015

European Court of Human Rights elects two new Section Presidents

Judges **András Sajó** (Hungary) and **Luis López Guerra** (Spain) have today been elected Section Presidents.

They have been elected for a two-year term and will take up their duties on 1 August 2015 and 1 September 2015 respectively.

The Court is composed of one judge in respect of each of the 47 States to have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights. Judges work in five Sections from which Chambers of seven judges are constituted. The Court also sits as a Grand Chamber of 17 judges. The Court has two Vice-Presidents both of whom also preside over Sections, the other three Sections each having a Section President.

Judges' CVs

Judge András Sajó

Born on 25 March 1949 in Budapest, Hungary

Law degree at the ELTE Law School of Budapest, 1972

Various research fellow positions at the Institute for State and Law, Hungarian Academy of Sciences since 1972

PhD and Habilitation at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 1977 and 1982

Founder and spokesperson of the Hungarian League for the Abolition of the Death Penalty, Budapest, 1988-1994

Legal Counsellor to the President of Hungary, 1991-1992

Chair of Comparative Constitutional Law, University Professor, Central European University (Budapest), 1993-2007

Member, American Law Institute, 1996

Member, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 1997

Recurrent Visiting Professor, Cardozo School of Law, New York, since 1990; Global Faculty, New York University Law School, since 1996

Board of Directors of the Open Society Justice Initiative of New York, 2001-2007

Judge of the European Court of Human Rights since 1 February 2008

Section Vice-President since 1 January 2015

Judge Luis López Guerra

Born on 15 November 1947 in Leon, Spain

B.A. in Law, University of Madrid, 1969

Master in Political Science, Michigan State University, 1975

Doctor of Law, University of Madrid, 1975

Assistant Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Madrid, 1975-1978

Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Extremadura (Cáceres), 1978-1995

Clerk at the Constitutional Court of Spain, 1982-1986

Judge of the Constitutional Court of Spain, 1986-1995

Alternative Representative and Legal Expert for the Venice Commission, 1995-2003

Professor of Constitutional Law, Universidad Carlos III (Madrid), 1995-2008

Vice-President of the General Council of the Judiciary, 1996-2001



Director of the Institute of Comparative Public Law, Universidad Carlos III, 2001-2003 Secretary of State for Justice, Ministry of Justice of Spain, 2004-2007 Judge of the European Court of Human Rights since 1 February 2008. Vice-President of Section since 1 November 2014

This press release is a document produced by the Registry. It does not bind the Court. Decisions, judgments and further information about the Court can be found on www.echr.coe.int. To receive the Court's press releases, please subscribe here: www.echr.coe.int/RSS/en or follow us on Twitter @ECHRpress.

Press contacts

echrpress@echr.coe.int | tel: +33 3 90 21 42 08

The European Court of Human Rights was set up in Strasbourg by the Council of Europe Member States in 1959 to deal with alleged violations of the 1950 European Convention on Human Rights.