

ECHR 350 (2014) 01.12.2014

European Court of Human Rights elects a new Section President

Judge Işıl Karakaş (Turkey) has today been elected Section President.

She has been elected for a three-year term and will take up her duties on 1 January 2015.

The Court is composed of one judge in respect of each of the 47 States to have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights. Judges work in five Sections from which Chambers of seven judges are constituted. The Court also sits as a Grand Chamber of 17 judges. The Court has two Vice-Presidents both of whom also preside over Sections, the other three Sections each having a Section President.

Judges' CVs

Judge Işıl Karakaş

Born on 8 December 1958 in Istanbul, Turkey

Faculty of Political Science, Istanbul University, 1983

Faculty of Law, Marmara University, 1990

Master's degree Public Law, Istanbul University, 1986

Master's degree in European Law, "Centre européen universitaire", Nancy II University, 1988

Doctor of Public Law, Istanbul University, 1992

European University Institute, Florence, 1990

Professor of International Law, Faculty of Law, Galatasaray University, 2003-2008

Director of the Research and Documentation Centre on Europe, Galatasaray University, 2002-2008 Head of Department of Public International Law, Faculty of Law, Galatasaray University, 2003-2008 Visiting Professor, Universities: Aix-Marseille III, Reims, Montpellier II, Strasbourg Robert Schuman

Vice-Dean, Faculty of Law, Galatasaray University, 2004-2008

Judge at the European Court of Human Rights since 1 May 2008

Vice-President of Section since 1 November 2013.

This press release is a document produced by the Registry. It does not bind the Court. Decisions, judgments and further information about the Court can be found on www.echr.coe.int. To receive the Court's press releases, please subscribe here: www.echr.coe.int/RSS/en or follow us on Twitter @ECHRpress.

Press contacts

echrpress@echr.coe.int | tel: +33 3 90 21 42 08

The European Court of Human Rights was set up in Strasbourg by the Council of Europe Member States in 1959 to deal with alleged violations of the 1950 European Convention on Human Rights.

